• Page update – 30/10/12

    Joe Citizens - new story, regarding Motability scooters. My favourite!

  • The Un-Civil Servant

  • BB

    BB is Bureaucratic Bullsh*t.
    It can also stand for Big Brother.
    In the civil service, they are one and the same.

  • What’s it all about?

    Bureaucracy is an umbrella term for official incompetence; that is, incompetence which has officially been sanctioned as being good practice. No-where in the world is that more apparent than in the British public sector. Misadministration of public services is the backbone of every government led department.
    Trust me, I’m a civil servant.

  • It’s a disease

    Bureaucracy runs rife through the corridors of power like a child riddled with ADHD, high on fizzy pop, crisps and jelly-beans.

  • Blog Stats

    • 684 hits
  • Bullsh*t Alert

Bullsh*t one to one

I had my monthly assessment today with my ‘manager’.  Yes, I use that term loosely.  Most of them are very loose, particularly in the brain department.  We call these assessments, ‘One-To-Ones.’  That’s because we disappear into a small office or a dark corner somewhere to discuss between the two of us how crap I am.

It’s complete bo**ocks and an utter waste of time – just the ‘management’ making a show of ‘doing it properly’.  But of course, in the civil service, very little is ever done properly.

These 121’s, as I like to write them, are supposed to be an assessment of our abilities, the discussion of the results from listening to our calls and an opportunity to look at areas of possible improvement.  All that actually happens is that we both try not to upset each other.  The manager tentatively points out any misdemeanours with a shrug and a smile that says, “sorry, I don’t want to do this but I’m just doing my job.”  And the officer sits there trying to mould a sheepish grin into a placating smile that says, “I’m really not this crap but I don’t want to cause bad feeling so I’ll just let you get on with it.”  And that’s about all it involves.  It ends with both of us putting on false laughs as we walk out of the office, pretending we’re still best buddies and not the bullsh*t bedfellows we really are.

Roll on next month for a repeat performance!

Leave your bull

