• Page update – 30/10/12

    Joe Citizens - new story, regarding Motability scooters. My favourite!

  • The Un-Civil Servant

  • BB

    BB is Bureaucratic Bullsh*t.
    It can also stand for Big Brother.
    In the civil service, they are one and the same.

  • What’s it all about?

    Bureaucracy is an umbrella term for official incompetence; that is, incompetence which has officially been sanctioned as being good practice. No-where in the world is that more apparent than in the British public sector. Misadministration of public services is the backbone of every government led department.
    Trust me, I’m a civil servant.

  • It’s a disease

    Bureaucracy runs rife through the corridors of power like a child riddled with ADHD, high on fizzy pop, crisps and jelly-beans.

  • Blog Stats

    • 682 hits
  • Bullsh*t Alert

Death by bullsh*t

I’m the sort of person that has to do a good job no matter what.  It’s how I was brought up and subsequently trained.  So when I notice failings in my own work, it bothers me.  I know full well that I could do better than I’m doing but the reason I’m not is because I am burnt out in my present position.  I need a change.

When I first started this job, I was part time and it was notoriously difficult to get full time hours.  Not because of financial constraints or a full headcount but because at that time, management knew there were limits to the job.  The few that were full time had come from other departments and so kept there original contracted hours but people fresh in could only get part time hours.  Management knew that taking call after call after call from the more ‘delicate’ members of our society put a strain on brain power and moral.  They also realised that the shelf life for being in the job was about two years.  After that time, employees tended to become tired, cynical and deflated.  In other words, totally worn out.

Unfortunately something terrible happened to management and their brains swiveled back to front.  Eventually, in my desperation for more money, I was allowed full time hours, along with anyone else who wanted them.  However, there was always the option to reduce hours and these requests were never refused.  It is only within the last two years that alien dictators have infiltrated management positions and any scope for leniency has been vapourised.

I have tried on several occasions to escape to ANY other department but have been blocked in every endeavour.  The reason given being, the civil service old favourite, ‘business needs.’  Meaning whatever the business needs it gets, no matter that my brain is mush, I cry into my keyboard daily, grind my teeth to the bleeding gums and leave a carpet of hair behind every day.  Why don’t you tell them, I hear you shout!  I have.  I have been doing this particular job for four years and it’s my second tour.  Previously I did it for two and a half years.  I have explained my near nervous breakdown to several managers, put it in writing, applied for transfers and other positions but they really don’t care.  A few weeks ago I asked to have my hours reduced by seven per week.  I even said my work was suffering and this may help me do a better job.  I also told them how stressed I was.  I got an answer with-in two days refusing the request due to business needs.  No matter that we have been told to reduce headcount and this would have helped!  I even told my manager AGAIN yesterday that I was really stressed with it and that no one wanted to help and she said, yes, I know – terrible, isn’t it and did absolutely nothing about it.

I have come to the depressing conclusion that I will leave this department in a wooden box.  And believe me, I won’t be the first.

Leave your bull

